Should I Be Sad Or Just Plain Mad????

Decorating By butternut Updated 28 Dec 2006 , 2:22pm by brownlg05

butternut Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
butternut Posted 23 Dec 2006 , 8:47pm
post #1 of 106

Hello everyone. I am in need of some advice. I made a Christmas cake a few days ago for my SIL. She didn't ask me to but I knew that she had a lot of company coming in and I thought that I could help out by making the dessert. I asked her if she would like me to make her a cake and she responded with yes, that would help me out a lot. Well, she knows that I am not a professional, the only cakes I have ever made are in my photos. I've never taken a class and she is aware of that. She just asked that I make it fairly simple and that's what I did. I delivered it to her and I could tell that she wasn't real excited about it. She never thanked me or said anything about the cake. I left a bit hurt but I never said anything. The next day, another relative told me that she was not happy with the cake. She thought that it would be more "professional" looking and she wasn't even sure if she would serve it to her guests. She said that if she knew that it would be this unprofessional, she would have declined my offer and bought one. She did end up serving it but cut it into pieces before bringing it out so that no one would see what the cake looked like. She did however say that at least it tasted good.
Please tell me what I could have done to make the cake look better. I tried to download it here but I'm not doing something right. It is in my photos if you don't mind taking a look. This is really bothering me. Thanks so much for your help.

105 replies
antonia74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
antonia74 Posted 23 Dec 2006 , 8:53pm
post #2 of 106

Is she nuts?! icon_confused.gif Your cake WAS beautiful and professional looking!