Chocolate Cake Mix Help Needed -Fast!!!!!

Decorating By Melan Updated 29 Oct 2007 , 12:12am by Melan

Melan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melan Posted 25 Oct 2007 , 4:26pm
post #1 of 11

I just leveled my 11x15 and 10in round chocolate cakes and neither of them are done in the middle. I am baffled b/c I do test to make sure they are done. this has never happened to me before!! I still have time to bake but I need to run back to the store so I can pick up more ingredients. I don't want to use the same cake mixes b/c something just doesn't taste right with them. These are duncan hines, they dont taste bad but they are not that good, I've never used duncan hines for chocolate before. What other brand is better and how to do I convert them to be used in a tiered cake? the 10 in will be the center of three tier cake and the 11x15 just needs to be a sheet so I'm not worried much about that one. I just need to know what brand to go get now... Thanks... I'm in a HUGE hurry!

10 replies
emf7701 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emf7701 Posted 25 Oct 2007 , 5:14pm
post #2 of 11

wow. i have no idea. i use dh all the time - won't use anything else - i've never had a problem.... how long did you bake your 10" for? mine usually take close to 50 minutes. i also add an extra egg and a box of pudding, so that thickens it up a bit. hopefully someone else on here will be of better assistance. best wishes.

~erica

JRAE33 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JRAE33 Posted 25 Oct 2007 , 5:20pm
post #3 of 11

Wow. I always use Duncan Hines. Their dark chocolate fudge is my favorite...and I don't usually like dark chocolate. The cake is very moist and I find I do have to bake the chocolate a little longer than the box calls for. For the 11x15, I know many people drop the temp to 325 and increase baking time. Not sure why the 10 inch wouldn't have gotten done in the middle?!