How Do You Get Past A Talent Plateau?

Decorating By TrinaH Updated 25 Oct 2007 , 1:00am by DelightsByE

TrinaH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TrinaH Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 5:23am
post #1 of 12

I've been decorating for almost 2 years now.... and it just seems as though my "improvement" has stopped coming. I practice when I can between cakes that I actually need to make but it just seems as though I've stopped getting better and am in a lull ... but want to get SOOO much better. Any ideas for breaking out of the plateau

11 replies
Tomoore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tomoore Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 11:26am
post #2 of 12

I felt this way earlier in the year and kinda took a little break from decorating out of frustration. I had completed a project and was disappointed that I still noticed the same "mistakes" I'd noticed in similar projects all along. At that point, I resolved to take classes to develop my skills.

JenMom2Boys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JenMom2Boys Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 11:40am
post #3 of 12

I would do the same as the previous poster, take a class. Good luck!

strawberry0121 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
strawberry0121 Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 11:56am
post #4 of 12

yep, take a class. Have fun!

springlakecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
springlakecake Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 11:49am
post #5 of 12

Are you stretching yourself? You've gotta go for things that you've never done before.

boring Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
boring Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 12:18pm
post #6 of 12

Either take a class or go to the local Cake Club ie: ICES or find one near you

GeminiRJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GeminiRJ Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 5:52pm
post #7 of 12