Music On The Side Of A Cake

Decorating By azsunn Updated 23 Oct 2007 , 3:56pm by azsunn

azsunn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
azsunn Posted 22 Oct 2007 , 5:13pm
post #1 of 10

My son's 18th Bday is coming up. I am a novice baker, I like to think I do have some talent.

My plan is to make a 10" round, chocolate cake with Chocolate BC. The top will have a FBCT of his school letter (he is a senior). I'd like to decorate the sides of the cake, and son is active in marching band. I saw sometime back a picture where a musical staff was piped on the side. How would you go about getting the lines on the side of the cake straight?

The tines of a fork would be too small, any other ideas/suggestions? Do you think this is overly ambitious? icon_rolleyes.gif I could do small FBCT's of his instrument as an alternative.

Any ideas/feedback?

Thanks

9 replies
krazykat_14 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
krazykat_14 Posted 22 Oct 2007 , 5:35pm
post #2 of 10

You could put the cake on a turntable and pipe the lines on free-hand, keeping your hand still and just spinning the cake...

Or buy a cheap comb and break off some of the teeth and leave just a few spaced where you want the lines to go and use that as your guide.

HTH

mezzaluna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mezzaluna Posted 22 Oct 2007 , 5:36pm
post #3 of 10

I did music on a cake. I cut a strip of parchment the width I wanted, then put it around the cake. I took a tool and made a line in the fondant at both edges (you need a turntable for this). Took the paper away, and made a line in the middle. made two more lines. Wrote in the music and the signs and clefs.

Link:

http://www.ultimatecake.se/bilder/07jul07a.jpg

Launa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Launa Posted 22 Oct 2007 , 5:43pm
post #4 of 10