Fondant Newbie In Need Of Answers!!!

Decorating By sportsmom005 Updated 22 Oct 2007 , 4:59am by sportsmom005

sportsmom005 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sportsmom005 Posted 22 Oct 2007 , 4:11am
post #1 of 9

I was hoping to find yummy, pre-made navy blue fondant to purchase for a football helmet cake I am doing next month, but I haven't had any luck.

Is it hard to color pre-made fondant? Which store-bought fondant tastes the best? Is the white chocolate fondant any good and could I color that navy?
Am I better off just making my own fondant? I have never worked with it or made it before. I don't even have a stand mixer yet. How hard is it?
I would probably just use BC if I knew I could get it as smooth as I need it to be, but this is my first carved cake and I have no practice with either.

Whas should I do???

Thanks,
Chrisy

8 replies
tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 22 Oct 2007 , 4:25am
post #2 of 9

making fondant is a little difficult if you are not use to working with gelatin and are not used to the consistency of fandant..I would suggest to by for the first time and get used to it first...Voloring fondant is not difficult but whe u go to darker color it does get a little more softer than usual..Chocolate fondant tastes great and it works just as good as regular fondant..And there is a lady in here her name is Sugarshack ...she made a viseo on how to make buttercream really smooth...I haven seen her video but i have seen her work and she is really good..I would recomend her...Good luck to you! thumbs_up.gif

dezzib27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dezzib27 Posted 22 Oct 2007 , 4:29am
post #3 of 9

I have heard that Satin Ice makes every color available, I am not sure what website it is but I have seen it here, sorry!

Postal_Cakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Postal_Cakemaker Posted 22 Oct 2007 , 4:30am
post #4 of 9

I'd go with Satin Ice fondant. They sell many colors of fondant. Here's a link I found.