Castle Cakes

Decorating By TheCakerator Updated 21 Dec 2006 , 4:07am by mariecar6

TheCakerator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheCakerator Posted 20 Dec 2006 , 3:47pm
post #1 of 13

I have a castle cake order for the 27th. I have never done one of these before, and the customer requested pillars. I plan on using paper towel tubes with waffle cones for the peaks. I was wondering if anyone who has made this cake before does anything special wtih the tubes before they frost them, or does the frosting stick o.k. by itself? I will just be using regular buttercream frosting for this cake .. any help or advice is appreciated greatly!!!

12 replies
luvbakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvbakin Posted 20 Dec 2006 , 4:37pm
post #2 of 13

I've never made one before, but here is a bump for you. Good luck.

mocakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mocakes Posted 20 Dec 2006 , 4:40pm
post #3 of 13

I wrapped mine in foil first...otherwise the crisco will seep into the cardboard and make it flimsy and unstable. It worked great!

Best of luck! thumbs_up.gif

TheCakerator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheCakerator Posted 20 Dec 2006 , 5:33pm
post #4 of 13

thanks mocakes .. and your work is just stunning .. I might have to "borrow" a few ideas from your castle cake if you dont mind!

Meeka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Meeka Posted 20 Dec 2006 , 5:40pm
post #5 of 13

Hi,
When I made the torrents on the castle cake I used the inside of the foil wrap because they are strudier. Then I cover them in fondant add the waffle cone tops and icing with buttercream. It usually holds, I make at least 2 castles month.

mocakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mocakes Posted 20 Dec 2006 , 5:43pm
post #6 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCakerator

thanks mocakes .. and your work is just stunning .. I might have to "borrow" a few ideas from your castle cake if you dont mind!