How To Handle Customers That Wrote Bad Check-Suggestions?

Decorating By ChristineMarie Updated 29 Oct 2007 , 5:05am by RobzC8kz

ChristineMarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChristineMarie Posted 18 Oct 2007 , 5:18pm
post #1 of 24

I have this customer.

First cake order- I go to deliver. She says can I pay you in a check. I hadnt ever taken one before. But Im like ok fine she was refered from someone I knew.Works for the same university I work for. As I am leaving she says ...."can you wait til Friday to cash it" Grrr I am a student /singlemom/cake on the side for extra money and am delivering it to a huge house (If you cant afford it dont order it is my motto).
So I say ok...and leave tail between my legs.

Second cake order-I deliver Saturday and leave. On Monday I recieve an email "Hey if you havent cashed the check please dont I am having a dispute with the bank" etc etc. I didnt write back as I had just cashed it the day before (sunday) Come Wednesday or Thursday she emails to say the check bounced and she will repay me the cake and the back charge.OK GRRRR.DAYS pass before she comes by to give me cash....If it were me I would be there that same day or at worst the next with cash/some extra and apologies.

Third and Recent Order-I didnt say no. She placed an order.Emailed to increase by 10 more servings. I redesign original cake to include way more than needed. Give her a price break for being a repeat customer and refering someone. I am such a dummy. She said she would have CASH for me when I deliver.

I just want to know what you have or would have done in a similar situation. I am very uncomfortable with the aspect of the business and pricing issues.

23 replies
Shyanne_Mommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shyanne_Mommy Posted 18 Oct 2007 , 5:26pm
post #2 of 24