Lace On Sneaker Cakes

Decorating By chocolatestone Updated 20 Oct 2007 , 12:49pm by handymama

chocolatestone Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chocolatestone Posted 17 Oct 2007 , 6:11am
post #1 of 13

I am new to cake decorating and would like to focus on working with fondant and cake sculpting. Where I come from there aren't any classes to help with this so I am thrilled that I have found this website. I would like make a sneaker cake for someone in my family. I don't think I will have too much trouble with carving the cake. I would like to know how to "lace" the shoes so that it looks more realistic.

Appreciate the help

Thanks

Chocolatestone

12 replies
tetraz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tetraz Posted 17 Oct 2007 , 8:24am
post #2 of 13

maybe you could pipe royal icing using tips 2 -7(depending on the size of the shoe)..

handymama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
handymama Posted 17 Oct 2007 , 8:32am
post #3 of 13

Get a little clay gun from Michaels. Extrude fondant for the laces and lace through holes you've made with a round tip.

elizw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elizw Posted 17 Oct 2007 , 11:47am
post #4 of 13

handymama -

thanks for the tip! i didn't know about a clay gun. i'm picking one up this week!!!

jibbies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jibbies Posted 17 Oct 2007 , 12:11pm
post #5 of 13

Cut each piece of fondant separately to go across from hole to hole. Keep them in place with fondant glue (a marble sized piece of fondant/gumpaste mixed with a 1/2 teaspoon of water, when it's like snot (sorry) it's the right consistency) make your bow separate from the laces and add when you deliver.

Jibbies

GI Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GI Posted 17 Oct 2007 , 12:20pm
post #6 of 13

My shoe cakes aren't as great as others on this site, but I did use my Play-Doh Fun Factory icon_biggrin.gif to make the shoe laces--piled fondant in it and made a long "string" and then laced it up like you would a shoe (criss-cross).