Black Cake

Decorating By trombonekaren Updated 21 Oct 2007 , 1:51am by trombonekaren

trombonekaren Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trombonekaren Posted 17 Oct 2007 , 2:13am
post #1 of 11

I would like to make a black cake for Halloween but am a bit nervous about getting enough color without the bad taste that comes with too much food coloring. I am planning to use the wilton quick pour chocolate fondant and then add enough to get that black. I will be attaching some chocolate transfers with buttercream to the fondant after it dries. I have never used this before and am also a bit nervous that the fondant might crack or something if I try to attach anything to it - anyone anticipate any problems with this plan??? Thanks!!!

PS - If i spray chocolate frosting with the canned color spray, will it come out with a nice black, or just splotchy brown???

10 replies
SugarFrosted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFrosted Posted 17 Oct 2007 , 2:26am
post #2 of 11

You could buy pre-colored black fondant. Satin Ice makes it, probably other companies make it too.

trombonekaren Posted 18 Oct 2007 , 4:17am
post #3 of 11

How does it taste??

4them Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
4them Posted 18 Oct 2007 , 4:24am
post #4 of 11

The satin ice black taste awesome and smells so good it is really good no food dye taste what so ever order it from-- into the oven.com--hth i have only tried to make black once from food coloring it was awful, unless you have an airbrush icon_smile.gif

lovely Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lovely Posted 18 Oct 2007 , 4:27am
post #5 of 11

Will have to try the black satin icing. Just an idea but what about making chocolate fondant or buying chocolate fondant and then add black colour. I don't use as much black colouring and tatses alright. The only black fondant I've found smells like vomit but it wasn't satin icing.

HTH

Leigh

KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 18 Oct 2007 , 4:29am
post #6 of 11