Ice Skating Cake

Decorating By esq1031 Updated 12 Oct 2007 , 5:41pm by tonedna

esq1031 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
esq1031 Posted 12 Oct 2007 , 1:01am
post #1 of 16

I am trying to get some ideas for my god-daughter's birthday cake that I want to do. She ice skates and I thought that would be a cute theme for the cake. Seeing as though I am very new to cake decorating, I was perusing the gallery for kid's cakes and I didn't see anything related to ice skating. If anyone has any advice or know of any related links I would appreciate it. I need all the help I can get. The party is not until December so I have time to play around with the idea. TIA.

Jackie

15 replies
msthang1224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msthang1224 Posted 12 Oct 2007 , 6:40am
post #2 of 16

You can go to earlenes cakes website and find instructions on how to make an ice skating cake there. The only catch is that she sells the instructions for approx. $8.00, she also post a picture of one she has done. I hope this helps icon_smile.gif
Good luck!!

msthang1224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msthang1224 Posted 12 Oct 2007 , 6:41am
post #3 of 16

Correction: the price is $20.00 sorry.

cakequeen50 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakequeen50 Posted 12 Oct 2007 , 7:17am
post #4 of 16

$20 !!!!!, man, I am in the wrong part of this business!!

Since as you say, you are new, you might think about making a cut-out cake, using a sheet cake and cutting out the pattern of an iceskate, then making a gumpaste "blade" and sticking it in the bottom of the skate. I don't know if I would go for anything stand up if you don't have much experience. I also saw somewhere that a pom-pom was put on the top of the toe part.
You can put it on a board with some edible glitter for shaved ice.

tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 12 Oct 2007 , 7:32am
post #5 of 16

ice skates made of chocolate

tonedna Posted 12 Oct 2007 , 7:33am
post #6 of 16

LL