What To Ask For For Christmas

Decorating By erin531 Updated 9 Dec 2006 , 12:07am by BklynSuze

erin531 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
erin531 Posted 8 Dec 2006 , 12:49am
post #1 of 12

Hi everyone Im just getting started in the whole cake thing icon_biggrin.gif and my husband wants to know what I want for Christmas. can anyone tell me a couple of thing that yall just cant live without. A kitchen aid mixer is already at the top of my list, but not sure of the rest thanks and merry christmas icon_smile.gif

11 replies
mjs4492 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjs4492 Posted 8 Dec 2006 , 1:00am
post #2 of 12

Welcome to the Addiction thumbs_up.gif

Obviously get some good pans. The Wilton 101-piece caddy has a good selection of "toys" and tips. They're a bit pricey - got mine on eBay. I enjoy looking through books - any books - and cake decorating magazines. And thank goodness CC is free!! It's the best reference site you'll find thumbs_up.gif

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 8 Dec 2006 , 1:09am
post #3 of 12

I'd ask for an unlimited credit line -- there's sooo much stuff to buy in the world of the sugar arts (or as I like to say -- so much to buy, so little money...) icon_smile.gif

mom2csc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mom2csc Posted 8 Dec 2006 , 1:17am
post #4 of 12

Just got my Professional Cake Derocating by Toba Garrett book, LOVE IT! At cooking.com its $39, compared to $65 on Amazon!!!

The 101 set you can get during around a holiday with a 50% coupon from Michaels.

Gift certificates to the Wilton Classes would be a good gift.

Check your local colleges also for decorating classes.

czyadgrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
czyadgrl Posted 8 Dec 2006 , 4:31am
post #5 of 12

A bench scraper thing - I just saw a nice OXO one, they call it a food slicer/scraper, has a nice OXO handle - great for smoothing buttercream!

And some metal spatulas - a long one and a small one with a pointed tip.