Opinions Please?

Decorating By steph007 Updated 8 Dec 2006 , 9:19pm by mthiberge

steph007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
steph007 Posted 7 Dec 2006 , 11:36pm
post #1 of 16

I'm still rather new to cake decorating, and have just made two cakes for a coworker's twin daughter's birthdays. She asked how much are they, and I'm unsure. They were both pains in the asses (pardon my french) and took a day each (the stupid unicorn broke and I tried to avoid using mmf... stupid me. I don't like how the face on the cheetah turned out, and the poor unicorn's leg and neck broke (hence the flower bracelet and necklace) after three times, so I don't think I can really charge all that much, but MAN were they pains in the asses! (I really wanted to stress that. icon_smile.gif any thoughts?

(my pics are too big... please check my photos and let me know? Thanks! oh, and the unicorn is pre bracelet and necklace)

15 replies
christeena Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
christeena Posted 7 Dec 2006 , 11:49pm
post #2 of 16

I think you did an awesome job! I would feel very comfy charging $50-$75 for either of them. They are a lot of work and look great!

nefgaby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nefgaby Posted 7 Dec 2006 , 11:49pm
post #3 of 16

mmm.... I would think maybe $40-$50 each?? OR you can multiply your cost by 4, and by cost I mean down to a small % of your electric bill, paper towels, disposable bags, etc. They look great! Congratulations!

patticakesnc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
patticakesnc Posted 7 Dec 2006 , 11:52pm
post #4 of 16

I am not good at pricing but if I did those I would not take less than $50 or $60 each. They look great and a lot of work!

steph007 Posted 7 Dec 2006 , 11:53pm
post #5 of 16

really?? that much?? WHOO HOO I'm getting better!!!

2sdae Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2sdae Posted 7 Dec 2006 , 11:54pm
post #6 of 16