Autumn Themed Wedding Cake....please Help!

Decorating By BeeBop31 Updated 4 Oct 2007 , 5:50am by texasseegirl

BeeBop31 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeeBop31 Posted 3 Oct 2007 , 3:15pm
post #1 of 7

I am fairly new at cake decorating and I have NEVER made a wedding cake before! I have one for Sat and they want a fall foliage themed cake. So far I have made some pumpkins out of marzipan...very cute too! I am going to be working on leaves next...My question is, Should I use gumpaste, fondant or marzipan for the leaves? I also was wondering abouthow to give the leaves a more natural look, coloring and veins. I would love any advice you could give ...Thanks

6 replies
gakali Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gakali Posted 3 Oct 2007 , 3:24pm
post #2 of 7

Welcome to Cake Central!!! icon_biggrin.gif If I were you, I would look through the galleries for fall-themed cakes, then PM the member if you want any advice or info. I just recently made a fall-themed wedding shower cake. It's in my pics if you want to look at it. For the leaves, I used marshmallow fondant. I drew lines on them with a toothpick, and let them dry for a couple of days on crumpled up paper towels. Then I brushed them with gold luster dust. Good luck with your cake!

tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 3 Oct 2007 , 3:31pm
post #3 of 7

Go to this link...they talk aqbout the subject..it might help..
http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-526093.html

CarolAnn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CarolAnn Posted 3 Oct 2007 , 3:32pm
post #4 of 7

Here's a link to a beautiful fall cake just posted by layersopflove. You could do the same thing with buttercream.

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-photo_1104543.html

mgdqueen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mgdqueen Posted 3 Oct 2007 , 3:36pm
post #5 of 7