How Do I Make Impressions In Fondant That Is On The Cake??

Decorating By Katrinagarrett1980 Updated 8 Oct 2007 , 1:37am by vitomiriam

Katrinagarrett1980 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katrinagarrett1980 Posted 3 Oct 2007 , 12:41pm
post #1 of 11

I am looking for advice on how to make those beautiful fondant impressions that I have seen on cakes, like the diamonds that look pressed in.

I am acually wanting to put oak leaves on the side of a cake that are pressed in like the diamond look.

Do you do it as soon as you put the fondant on. Do you actually cut the fondant or just press? Use water, crisco???

I am new to using fondant. Just made my first batch of Rhonda's Ultimate MMF and love it!!!

Any suggestions??

10 replies
karensue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karensue Posted 3 Oct 2007 , 1:11pm
post #2 of 11

Yes, you need to make your impressions as soon as you can after placing the fondant. If it dries too much, it will be really hard to get a nice impression.

You can use impression mats or cutters, i.e, Patchwork cutters. Actually, I've even used cookie cutters. Just remember to press lightly if you're using something out of metal or sharp.

Katrinagarrett1980 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katrinagarrett1980 Posted 3 Oct 2007 , 2:01pm
post #3 of 11

Do I need to use something like water to help smooth it??

karensue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karensue Posted 3 Oct 2007 , 2:54pm
post #4 of 11

No water on fondant. It will dissolve the sugar and leave pockmarks.

Make sure your fondant is nice and smooth and then just gently press whatever you're using for the impression into the fondant. Leaf cutters would work pretty simply.

Sweetcakes23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweetcakes23 Posted 6 Oct 2007 , 11:49pm
post #5 of 11