Stand Up Doll Cake

Decorating By ABrunath Updated 5 Feb 2005 , 8:23pm by ABrunath

ABrunath Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ABrunath Posted 5 Feb 2005 , 4:04pm
post #1 of 5

Hi, I'm new to cake central and don't know if this is the exact right place to post this question.

I need some advise on what to charge for a doll cake. It's for a 4th b-day and the mother will provide a real doll (Disney's Sleeping Beauty). She wants the dress on the cake to be the same as the dolls, sleeves, collar, colors and all! I'm planning on using fondant on the skirt and bodice. The doll cake will sit on top of a 12" round cake (or larger if necessary to get the right effect).

She also wants a batch (probably 20) of star shaped cookie pops decorated like wants as favors for the girls. I've never done cookies for any other customers, so I'm really at a loss with this!

Does anyone have any suggestions or advise on how to price this out? Also, any suggestions on decorating this cake?

Thanks in advance,
Andrea

4 replies
MrsMissey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsMissey Posted 5 Feb 2005 , 4:36pm
post #2 of 5

Welcome and yes, you have posted this question in the right place! Although others may disagree with the following, here is what I suggest. Take the cost of all of your ingredients and packaging (and I mean everything!) and times it by three and round it up if you choose. I think that is a fast, fair and easy way to come up with a price, you could always adjust if you want to! Your total costs may be higher or lower than someone living in a different area and that would be reflected in your price! Try it and see what you come up with! Happy baking, Missey icon_biggrin.gif

SquirrellyCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SquirrellyCakes Posted 5 Feb 2005 , 6:12pm
post #3 of 5