Help!!! Buttercream Dream Not Crusting?

Decorating By theabsinaz Updated 22 Sep 2007 , 4:08pm by pinkbox

theabsinaz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
theabsinaz Posted 21 Sep 2007 , 11:45pm
post #1 of 7

Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie to decorating cakes and attempting to make a 2-tier 8"/10" round cake for my daughter's 6th birthday tomorrow...yes, a big undertaking i'm sure for being so green to this and i'm kicking myself now for it. Anyways, I am having a problem....the buttercream I made (Buttercream Dream recipe from this site) is not crusting and it has been over an hour since I iced my cakes & popped them into the refrigerator. The recipe didn't say if it was a crusting or noncrusting buttercream and being a newbie, the very idea that it wouldn't be a crusting one never crossed my mind. icon_redface.gif I want to smooth them out using the VIVA method and then cover both cakes in fondant but the icing just won't crust. What did I do wrong? I used heavy whipping cream liquid instead of milk (didn't have enough milk) but would that keep it from crusting? Is it not crusting because I put them in the refrigerator? I'm afraid to leave them on the counter because the recipe has so much butter in it. The a/c is on but it's 79 degrees inside & 100 degrees outside. What should I do now? I have to get this cake done tonight and i'm freaking out...the party is at 9:30am tomorrow! icon_sad.gif

6 replies
carolyn56 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carolyn56 Posted 22 Sep 2007 , 12:47am
post #2 of 7

from one newbie to another i think a thin layer on cake of butter cream is all you need if covering it in fondant don't worry about smoothing it so much and it will be just fine good luck and have a great party

carolyn56 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carolyn56 Posted 22 Sep 2007 , 12:54am
post #3 of 7

it's me again you should click on articles and it has a tutorial on covering cakes in fondant , i think then you can see how much icing is on the cake