Do You Offer Smbc Or Imbc For Wedding Cakes?

Business By mrsright41401 Updated 24 Nov 2006 , 2:36pm by Price

mrsright41401 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsright41401 Posted 22 Nov 2006 , 6:08pm
post #1 of 11

And if you do, do you charge more for it?

Rachel

10 replies
destini377 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
destini377 Posted 22 Nov 2006 , 6:13pm
post #2 of 11

I admit, I'm a newbie, so I have to ask... what is smbc and imbc?

mrsright41401 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsright41401 Posted 22 Nov 2006 , 6:17pm
post #3 of 11

Swiss Meringue Buttercream and Italian Meringue Buttercream

ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 22 Nov 2006 , 6:38pm
post #4 of 11

I use Italian Meringue buttercream on all of my cakes other than chocolate. Even a thin coat of it under fondant. I charge $4.50 per serving for all cakes but really should up that a bit for fondant. I do charge extra for gumpaste flowers, fondant bows etc.

mjw15618 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjw15618 Posted 24 Nov 2006 , 1:19pm
post #5 of 11

I only use the Swiss meringue and yes, I charge more for my cakes. The only cakes I'll use a powdered sugar-based icing for is maybe a kid's birthday cake. I really like Toba Garrett's "decorator's buttercream" recipe...it's sweet, but not sickeningly so and it pipes well. Once people taste a true buttercream (I don't know how anyone can call an icing made with crisco "buttercream"), they never want to go back! My 9" rounds, without any fancy decoration, start at $40. Half sheets start at $50.

Bethroze Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bethroze Posted 24 Nov 2006 , 1:34pm
post #6 of 11

I use IMBC on my wedding cakes. I charge $2 per serving, and found out at my last wedding that I'm cheaper than Publix. Uggg...and that's after I raised my prices last year! icon_cry.gif

My children's birthday cakes use CBC and most of my old fahsioned yummy cakes have cream cheese icing. A three layer, 9" is $25 from me.