Apprenticship/part-Time Work

Business By praetorian2000 Updated 24 Nov 2006 , 10:49pm by surfergina

praetorian2000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
praetorian2000 Posted 15 Nov 2006 , 2:11pm
post #1 of 8

I desparately want to go into the baking/cake decorating business. I completed a baking and pastry class and received a certificate. I work full time as a social worker and cannot all of a sudden make the switch. That would be a huge pay cut. The school I received my certificate from is trying to get me connected with an apprenticeship at a local bakery that would accept me. The problem is, since I work full time, I can only do weekend hours. And no one wants that. They want more time for me because that would be the only way I could learn. I have sent several letters to local bakeries asking for an apprenticeship or part time work or just to donate hours in exchange for learning experience. No one is responding. Or maybe they're thinking and are taking a while to respond. I hope that's what they're doing.
My question is, what would be the best way for me to get my foot in the door? Bakeries aren't advertising for workers so I can browse the want ads to see who's in need of help. The holidays are here and I know they all could use the extra help. I have a portfolio of cakes and brownies and candies that I have made. They're on my website if you want to see them. I thought of walking in and asking, but who exactly should I talk to? Some owners have 3-4 locations so they may not be at that particular location. All I want to do is bake. I'm not after fame or money (and that amazes my girlfriend, but I keep telling her it's baking that makes me happy and not money). I just want to bake. Any suggestions would be well received. And I'm sorry this is long.

7 replies
ncdessertdiva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ncdessertdiva Posted 15 Nov 2006 , 5:26pm
post #2 of 8