Roses Drive Me Crazy!!!

Decorating By FiveAlarmBakery Updated 14 Sep 2007 , 1:43am by Nikki_B

FiveAlarmBakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FiveAlarmBakery Posted 12 Sep 2007 , 3:36pm
post #1 of 11

I'm new to roses. I know, I know, how did I get away without them? I bought the pre made ones for anything. Now I'm trying to get into making royal icing roses, and I've decided that they're just a pain.

Does anyone have any tips about making roses?

The center of my rose always seems too big, and I don't know if I need to change tips or what.

My mother was sitting at the house watching me do roses, over and over again, and she goes, "well it looks okay, but the center looks like it had a melt down."

Any help?

10 replies
phoohbear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
phoohbear Posted 12 Sep 2007 , 5:57pm
post #2 of 11

I couldn't get my centers to stay stiff for the longest time, but someone told me to use a hershy kiss and use that as the cone, Worked great!!! Latter after taking a wilton course I found out my royal was not stiff enough. maybe try a litte more sugar.

onebunny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
onebunny Posted 12 Sep 2007 , 6:13pm
post #3 of 11

I too feel your pain! I've been practising and practising and my roses just melt into blobs - both with royal and buttercream. I try to make my icing stiffer but then my poor little hand screams from the workout. Perhaps a kiss would help (assuming I don't eat it first icon_wink.gif ) I'll be interested to hear other, more experienced rose-makers tips.

Jopalis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jopalis Posted 12 Sep 2007 , 6:15pm
post #4 of 11

Check out the Wilton site/video... And I use kisses for centers. I am not sure how to get it to stay on the nail though.... Have had problems with them coming off while making the rose.... Looking for ideas on that. Tried toothpicks insead of nail.... not great either

diane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
diane Posted 12 Sep 2007 , 6:16pm
post #5 of 11