Chocolate Cake

Decorating By amandasmummy Updated 21 Oct 2013 , 7:32pm by PeaceOCakeWY

amandasmummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amandasmummy Posted 7 Sep 2007 , 5:59am
post #1 of 39

Helloeveryone I am making a two tier cake and wondering, what is the best chocolate cake and filling for something like this, a stupid question i know, but i am only new to this also it will be for a two year old.
thankyou

38 replies
bonnebouche Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bonnebouche Posted 7 Sep 2007 , 6:06am
post #2 of 39

Not sure about the best cake but the absolute best choc frosting is Toba's Godiva buttercream. It is a little expensive with the ganache, Godiva liquer, dutch cocoa, but is is soooooooooooooooooo worth it.

melysa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melysa Posted 7 Sep 2007 , 6:07am
post #3 of 39

One Delicious Chocolate Cake (Kate Sullivan)

2 1/3 cups all purpose flour
1 ½ cups unsweetened cocoa powder
1 ¼ teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon baking soda
3 cups granulated sugar
5 eggs, room temp
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 ½ cups buttermilk, room temp
1 ½ sticks unsalted butter, melted
1 ½ cups strong coffee

Preheat oven to 350. Grease and flour sides and bottoms of pans. Set pans aside.

In large bowl of mixer, stir together the flour, cocoa, salt, baking powder and soda. Stir in the sugar.

In small bowl, combine the eggs and vanilla extract. Mix into the dry ingredients. Stir in the buttermilk, melted butter and coffee. Divide batter evenly among pans.

Bake at 350 for around 35 min. or until toothpick comes out clean. Transfer to wire cooling rack.

if you live at a low elevation use 1 tsp each baking powder and soda instead of 1 tb each (note by melysa)

whipped milk chocolate ganache

12 oz milk chocolate chips
2 cups heavy cream

Heat cream until nearly boiling. Pour over chocolate chips in a metal bowl. let sit 2 minutes. Whisk chocolate and cream until well combined; dark, smooth and glossy.