Okay Cc Cake Fairies....blow Some Fairy Dust My Way (Long)

Decorating By RRGibson Updated 9 Sep 2007 , 11:11pm by RRGibson

RRGibson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RRGibson Posted 6 Sep 2007 , 2:14am
post #1 of 21

Okay guys!! The big weekend has almost arrived...the make or break moment...drum roll please.......MY FIRST WEDDING CAKE!!

First wedding cake due this Sunday. Thank God it's Sunday and not Saturday because my son has his first little league game Saturday icon_wink.gif . The design is pretty simple, just buttercream, ribbon around the bottom and a strand of pearls. At the last minute, she has decided that she wants a little line work on the sides as well. And there's also a fresh flower arrangement which I'll be doing also. I say "just" as if I'm a pro but really, I'm getting a little nervous icon_cry.gif. I'm afraid that my buttercream won't be smooth and just imagining that it will fall down somehow anything could go wrong.

I was going to bake my cakes on Friday but after reading so much about how freezing helps the cake keep it's moisture (and also since my son didn't have practice tonight) I baked (am still baking) all of my layers today. I will torte and freeze them once they're all cool. Then on Friday I plan to make all of my fillings, fill and crumb coat. Then Saturday after the game I will decorate. I also have a small bday cake to do for Sunday as well.

So, now that I've told you the whole (long) story and plan, please blow some fairy dust my way icon_lol.gif. Think of me while I'm working on the first cake. I hope it turns out okay. If I don't forget, I'll post pictures of my progress.

Thanks!

20 replies
angief Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
angief Posted 6 Sep 2007 , 2:21am
post #2 of 21

Here's some happy cake thoughts coming your way.....

You can do it!! Make sure you post pictures and have fun! icon_biggrin.gificon_lol.gif

Angie

samcfi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
samcfi Posted 6 Sep 2007 , 2:21am
post #3 of 21