Help..first Time Stacking Cakes

Decorating By LarissaEmily Updated 5 Sep 2007 , 7:35pm by frstech

LarissaEmily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LarissaEmily Posted 4 Sep 2007 , 2:51am
post #1 of 22

hello, i am very new to cake decorating and am planning on making my first stacked cake for my sister in laws baby shower this month. I have never made a stacked cake before.
Anyway I was wondering if people would mind posting advise on different support methods for stacking a 6" cake ontop of a 10" cake. And could those giving advise please also mention where you could purchase those items.
Also do those more experienced cake decoraters feel that you can use boxed cake mixes for stacking or would they be to airy and collapse?
Thanks!!

Larissa

21 replies
nikki1201 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nikki1201 Posted 4 Sep 2007 , 2:55am
post #2 of 22

I'm so glad you asked because I'd like to know myself!

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 4 Sep 2007 , 4:55am
post #3 of 22

Theoretically you can stack any cake because one cake is not supporting the other--the support system is doing all the support. If you take a class you'll be taught to use dowels as a support system. I use a different system called SPS (Single Plate System) that was developed for consumers to pick up and transport their own wedding cakes. It's so much easier than dowels, at least for me. I'm pretty sure you can purchase it from Country Kitchens. (I buy wholesale, cause now I have that much volume.)

Every Wilton book has really good directions on how to stack cakes in the back of the book. Even has pictures to illustrate the process.

delisa01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
delisa01 Posted 4 Sep 2007 , 5:39pm
post #4 of 22

I agree with leahs- check out the Wilton books. This is only a hobby for me so I don't use the SPS System.