How Do You Ice A Cookie Without Reaching The Border?

Baking By bertac Updated 31 Oct 2006 , 10:39pm by cryssi

bertac Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bertac Posted 29 Oct 2006 , 7:58pm
post #1 of 11

Hello, I am just new in this cookie making item. I have seen the 92 photo pages from the cookie gallery and I said to myself that someday( better sooner than never) I would like to make cookies just the way you do.
My question is how do you make to ice the cookie without letting the icing coming to the edge. For instance, in some pumpkins I really like the way you ice it without covering it completely.

Well I am not sure if I am explaining it right, but I am convinced you will help me.

Thank you artists thumbs_up.gif

10 replies
JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 29 Oct 2006 , 8:10pm
post #2 of 11

Hi and Welcome,

Here's a thread to get you started:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-48892-.html

HTH

antonia74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
antonia74 Posted 29 Oct 2006 , 8:19pm
post #3 of 11

Here's my step-by-step article I did for this site:

http://www.cakecentral.com/article54-How-To-Bake--Decorate-
Cookies.html

You can ice the cookies in 2 steps with a border of icing then cover them entirely (flooding) OR simply flood the entire cookie in one step.

shortNsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shortNsweet Posted 29 Oct 2006 , 8:19pm
post #4 of 11

I simply pipe the icing around the shape of the cookie, and then fill it in after thinning it ever so slightly. ( I let the outer line that I piped around the shape of the design harden for a few minutes before letting the thinned icing drizzel in the center of it). In other words, your making a dam for the thinned icing to go inside of...make sense? Try it once and you'll see what I mean. Let me know if I can help further!

giovanna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
giovanna Posted 30 Oct 2006 , 3:39am
post #5 of 11