Is This Legal?

Business By destiny44 Updated 27 Aug 2007 , 12:43am by alanahodgson

destiny44 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
destiny44 Posted 26 Aug 2007 , 2:31am
post #1 of 9

Hi,

My mom has been making and decorating cakes for friends and family for years. She wants to start her own home business because she is passionate about cake decorating, not to mention, could use some extra income.

For a couple of friends she has taken pictures of wedding cakes from magazines and copied them and she does an excellent job.

Now, I know this is fine as long as you are not selling them, but what about if you are? Is this legal?

Destiny

8 replies
SMRturtle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SMRturtle Posted 26 Aug 2007 , 3:29am
post #2 of 9

I don't know the "rules" with cakes but I do decorative painting for a living and I was taught that if you paint (make) it, it's yours- that being said- I always change certain elements of a design- either floral placement or colors....
Also, to be safe, I would say give credit to the person- (ie: based off a design created by Jane Doe or Jane Doe's cakes). Hope this helps!

mjulian Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjulian Posted 26 Aug 2007 , 3:35am
post #3 of 9

I have to agree with SMRturtel about the rules. I think that we all get our insperation from somewhere and then we make our own changes or color changes and it some out different. Just make sure credit is put in its place.

kimberlina25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimberlina25 Posted 26 Aug 2007 , 5:55am
post #4 of 9

most of us get inspiration from multiple places (half of the time we don't even remember where we get them from) and put our own spin on things. but if she is copying them detail by detail, i'm not so sure about that. some people do have copyrights on their cakes....

jlh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jlh Posted 26 Aug 2007 , 6:07am
post #5 of 9