Who Really Eats Gumpaste?

Decorating By jenlg Updated 26 Aug 2007 , 3:52am by Steady2Hands

jenlg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenlg Posted 22 Aug 2007 , 8:54pm
post #1 of 27

Hello everyone, I know I'm a rookie in all of this....I''ve been taking the Wilton classes and am currently in the fondant/gumpaste class. I have the 3rd class to go through and that's it. My question is....do people usually eat the gumpaste decorations from the cakes? My instructor said not usually both others said they do. What do you think? By the way...I love everyone's cakes!!!

Jen icon_biggrin.gif

26 replies
springlakecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
springlakecake Posted 22 Aug 2007 , 9:11pm
post #2 of 27

uuuuhhhh, I would say no. Unless it is a child or your dog LOL! Fondant decorations on the other hand...maybe. Gumpaste dries so hard. Right now I am picturing an old lady chomping down on a big ole' gumpaste flower LOL LOL LOL!

Bonnie151 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bonnie151 Posted 22 Aug 2007 , 9:45pm
post #3 of 27

Yep, children eat them but that's about it. I made my son a graduation cake this week for his leaving preschool (they had this mini graduation ceremony so even though he's only 5 he's all excited about "graduating") and it had a little model of him in cap & gown. Nursery saved the model & in car on the way home we heard a smacking noise. I turned around and there was Connor's 2 year old sister happily chomping away on Connor's head. She'd decapitated him & ate the whole thing, saying it was "Yummy!" icon_lol.gif

The model is no more icon_lol.gif :
LL

keonicakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
keonicakes Posted 22 Aug 2007 , 10:10pm
post #4 of 27