Charging Family And Friends??

Decorating By Kate714 Updated 20 Oct 2006 , 2:12pm by praetorian2000

Kate714 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kate714 Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 10:46pm
post #1 of 16

Hi all,

I am new to cake decorating but have been busy making cakes, cupcakes and cake truffles for family and friends. Some of them request cakes that need to feed a lot of people. They always say, "of course, I'll pay you..." but I don't really know how to bring the subject up again. I don't plan on really turning this into a big business...just selling some cake truffles for the holidays and stuff. BUT, I would like to at least be compensated for my costs.

For those of you in my situation, what do you do? Suck it up, or ask for a little bit of money just to help cover the cost of materials??

15 replies
mbelgard Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mbelgard Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 10:58pm
post #2 of 16

My general policy about anyone with cakes is that if I offer it's free, if you ask I'm going to charge you.
If you aren't looking to make a profit it's fine to tell them to pick up materials or give them a dollar amount. I made my sister's wedding cake for the cost but I included every bit of equipment I didn't have that I needed and I got to keep it.

ladyonzlake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladyonzlake Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 11:04pm
post #3 of 16

I agree. If I offer it's free and if they ask charge. What I do for family and close friends is offer them a "discount" on my regular prices...say 15percent off what I normally charge.
Jacqui

aligotmatt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aligotmatt Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 11:04pm
post #4 of 16

I agree about charging for new equipment you have to buy too. I try to tell my family that I'm "hooking up" the cost of ingredients ahead of time, that way they are prepared when they recieve their cake. Don't forget to include the price of the board and box if you're not getting them back.

jtb94 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile