Sticky Situation W/ Payment! (Long.....rant)

Decorating By Mandica12182 Updated 18 Oct 2006 , 6:09pm by koolaidstains

Mandica12182 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mandica12182 Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 4:31pm
post #1 of 15

Okay first of all I am very new to all this cake decorating stuff. But, I volunteered to make my cousin's cake, I told my uncle that I would glady do her cake for practice....He was going to go to Kroger and buy a 1/4 sheet cake to feed close to 40 people?? His excuse was he is poor...so, I said I would do the cake just for cost of ingredients. The picture of the cake I made for her is in my gallery. I made a 3 tier princess/girly/high heeled shoes themed cake. It was a 12',20',8' round tiered cake, I knew that I was making more cake than they needed but, I wanted to make this cake!! LOL. I used 7 cake mixes, 1 1/2 dozen eggs, 1lb or more of butter, peanut butter..... and on and on....
He's always complaining about how poor he is...but, aren't we all. I probably would have accepted 15 dollars for this cake, since it was a lot more cake than they needed....but, guess what He didn't pay me a dime!! I also had already bought the little girl her present so all in all this birthday party cost me more time and money than I EVER planned on spending especially for NOTHING in return!!

How do I go about this whole situation....do I just write it off and learn a lesson?? I usually know about a party ahead of time and offer to make the cake for my gift to them....and I NEVER make that big of a cake....10' round is the usual freebie to family and friends. I have just been telling myself that it was good practice anyways and I wanted a reason to do a tiered cake anyway.....but, it just irritates me.....I don't want to start a family feud.....But.....would he go work for 2 days and expect no payment in return!!??? icon_eek.gif

Sorry I needed to vent....GRRR icon_mad.gif

14 replies
mmdd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmdd Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 4:38pm