How Do I Get Started???

Decorating By jespooky Updated 19 Oct 2006 , 5:30pm by mkolmar

jespooky Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jespooky Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 2:08am
post #1 of 12

Hi all!

I am COMPLETELY NEW to the cake making concepts!! Can anyone steer me in the right direction? What reading materials should i get? What pans and tips are a MUST HAVE for any cake maker? I'd like to make my daughter's 3rd birthday cake myself, so i have 2 months to practice icon_smile.gif I dont even know what MMF is!! icon_sad.gif or how exactly to do a FBCT? All things i know will come in time. Any advice, tips, or words of wisdom would be appreciated!! Thanks in advance! birthday.gif

Jespooky

11 replies
xandra83 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xandra83 Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 2:13am
post #2 of 12

I prefer square pans to sheet pans because they look more professional. I love round pans too. Probably start with a 10 in round and 12 in square. I love those sizes. I would try and take a Wilton course at your local hobby lobby or michaels to get started. You can just take the 1st class and learn borders and basics. That would be the first thing to do. hope this helps

hspree Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hspree Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 2:16am
post #3 of 12

Welcome to CC!! I am also pretty new to cake decorating but I love it! And this site is addictive! I took the 3 Wilton classes offered at Michael's and loved them. You get a lot of the basic decorating tips with the class kits.

jtb94 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jtb94 Posted 18 Oct 2006 , 2:25am
post #4 of 12

my first pans were the 10 inch and 12 inch round pans. Then I went to e-bay and just bought tips. I had no idea what tips they were when I bought them. But I am glad that I have a wide variety. Also look in the paper for the 40 percent off coupons for the local craft store. I get Hobby Lobby, Micheals and Jo Anne's coupons in the paper. Then when I need something, I can use the coupon.