Luster Dust Non-Edible?

Decorating By FreshAir Updated 17 Oct 2006 , 10:45pm by Kate714

FreshAir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FreshAir Posted 17 Oct 2006 , 12:13am
post #1 of 9

Hi guys! I was just looking around online for luster dust & I pulled up a site that offered petal dust, luster dust & highlighting dust, but there was a dislcaimer on the page. It said "Although these items are classified as "edible" in Europe in the United States they are classed as "NON-TOXIC FOR DECORATION ONLY" AND NOT considered edible. Buy at your own discretion." I've never used any of these before but I've seen some beautiful cakes on this site that have used them & I was wanting to order some. Now I'm not so sure. Has anyone ever heard of what they're saying in this disclaimer?

8 replies
FreshAir Posted 17 Oct 2006 , 12:41am
post #2 of 9

I didn't see this come up on the home page so let me try this bump thing again. Here goes..........

BUMP

Kate714 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kate714 Posted 17 Oct 2006 , 12:48am
post #3 of 9

yes, I have heard this before. I think from what I have heard, it is only bad in very large amounts...someone correct me if I'm wrong?? But people seem to use it all the time, so....

prettycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prettycake Posted 17 Oct 2006 , 12:48am
post #4 of 9

Try this..http://paylesscakedecor.com/lusterdust1.htm or Payless Cake Decor
I've been using this kind in the past 12 years. on al;l my cake decorating needs.

missyek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missyek Posted 17 Oct 2006 , 1:50am
post #5 of 9