Bra Cake

Decorating By librarian Updated 13 Oct 2006 , 8:26pm by Elfie

librarian Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
librarian Posted 13 Oct 2006 , 4:32pm
post #1 of 11

I'm planning to make a cake for a friend's 40th birthday party. I'm copying the idea from some cakes posted this site. I want the cake to have a bra on it and say "Joanne is 40, give her some support". I am pretty new to decorating, so I'm not sure how to do this. Should I just mold fondant on something round?Or will it crack as it dries? I could get an edible image of a bra. If I make the cups higher than the cake will the edible image be ruined?
Thanks, I would appreciate any advice you can give me.

10 replies
Chefgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chefgirl Posted 13 Oct 2006 , 4:44pm
post #2 of 11

Hey, I am actually working on one for tomorrow! I made my bra cups from gumpaste and put them on small bowls turned upside down (dusted w/cornstarch first) to dry. I found some great stainless bowls at Ikea that have really rounded bottoms and they work great for molding round things. I've also heard people use the wonder mold by Wilton, I think. I don't have one of those, though. I just put some lace appliques on last night around the tops of the cups, also in gumpaste. I'm going to make the straps from fondant, I think, or half fondant and half gumpaste. So I can't show you my final outcome, but it is working so far! I'm still a littler nervouse, though! Here's a website that has several to look at with and without lace: http://www.thecakecorner.com/red_album_008.htm. I'm going to paint mine with luster dust.
I have just looked at pictures and made it up as I went along. There were some forum posts on this that I also looked at. Hopefully someone else has more info for you!

Chefgirl Posted 13 Oct 2006 , 4:46pm
post #3 of 11

Okay, I just tried the link myself and it didn't work. Go to the homepage: http://www.thecakecorner.com/, click on gallery, then novelty.