Your Best Tips To Use Vinyl To Work With Fondant...

Decorating By frosting111 Updated 30 Oct 2011 , 2:44am by BlakesCakes

frosting111 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
frosting111 Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 9:30pm
post #1 of 33

Vinyl for Fondant question...

I've never used this technique before, but read about it on CC in the forums a while back and was impressed to give it a try....

I just went to the fabric store and saw some of the clear vinyl on a rack and thought "oh goody, I'll get some and try it"...So bought a 1 yard piece of clear vinyl to roll my fondant out on, and to help place the fondant on the cakes with as well...What's the best all around size to cut the size of my vinyl down to, to keep it a good all around size but also easy to manage as well...or should I cut it into a couple different sizes to accommodate what size sheet of fondant I would need to roll out???

Also....Please,give some of your best tips to use this vinyl threw your experience's using it to manipulate fondant onto cakes....

Thanks in Advance,Mary birthday.gif

32 replies
rcs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rcs Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 10:01pm
post #2 of 33

The piece I use most is about 25" square. It just depends on how big of a cake you're making. I figure I have the rest of the yard I bought if I want a bigger piece for a bigger cake! Be sure and lightly wet your surface that you put your vinyl on. It keeps it from slipping while you're rolling out your fondant. I've had good luck just using a very light coating of shortening on my vinyl. My fondant doesn't stick at all. I just flip the whole thing over onto the cake and peal the vinyl off! On larger cakes, it helps to have an extra set of hands available if possible when flipping and pealing back the fondant. Hope that helps!

frosting111 Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 10:20pm
post #3 of 33