Need To Vent Re: Wilton Classes Offered At Michaels!

Decorating By mvucic Updated 12 Jul 2005 , 4:21pm by melodyscakes

PatS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PatS Posted 8 Jul 2005 , 11:25pm
post #31 of 53

I have been a Wilton instructor at Michaels for five years. The instructor is responsible for setting up the class schedule with the store's event coordinator. There are course handout to be given to students when they sign up and pay for the class. This handout lets the students know that to bring to the first night of class. Everyone signing up for Wilton classes should make sure they are given the supply list. It is also the instructor responsiblity to let the store know when they need to order an additional supply of course books. The store won't know what is on hand unless I tell them. Instructors are suppose to be at the store 30 minutes before the class starts to prepare for that nights lessons. I try to be prepared for each night of class. I do teach all three courses but on different nights of the week. I would never try to teach all three on the same night. Too much information to cover in a short period of time.

I agree that store employees need more training in signing up students. My students have encountered this problem too. I try to be helpful but there isn't much I can do about untrained personnel.

Michaels does accept Jo-Ann coupons, you must let the cashier know before they start your transaction that you have a Jo-Ann coupon because they are treated differently then a Michaels coupon.

Wilton sends each instructor a schedule for starting classes. I run my classes on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday each week. July class are to start the week of July 10 therefore my class are starting after July 10.