Help My Practice Cake Fell Apart

Decorating By cakesbygrandma Updated 4 Oct 2006 , 3:51pm by candyladyhelen

cakesbygrandma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbygrandma Posted 4 Oct 2006 , 3:16pm
post #1 of 7

Help. I made a 12 x 18 2 inch deep sheet cake as a practice for one I must do on the 15th for my granddaughters soccer team. I am new to this and it was my first time making a sheet cake. Cake baked perfect flipped on to cooling rack. Started to fall apart a little when I wrapped in saran wrap. Got wrapped only to find out that it would not fit in my side by side freezer. I left it wrapped in the pan on the counter over night. When I went to decorate it was very moist on top. When I tried to remove from the saran wrap on to a cake board so that I could level and torte it completly fell apart in to hundreds of pieces. HELP WHAT DID I DO WRONG. ANY SUGGESTIONS AS I PROMISED THIS CAKE TO MY GRANDDAUGHTER AND I NEED THIS SIZE AS I AM GOING TO BE PUTTING THE SOCCER BALL ON TOP. THANKS MARIA

6 replies
Dustbunny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dustbunny Posted 4 Oct 2006 , 3:29pm
post #2 of 7

I have noticed that a lot of people here make 2 half sheets and put them together instead of the full so it is easier to work with.
If you don't like that option do a search for a sturdier cake recipe maybe? I know if your using box mix leave out a little of the oil and that will help make it sturdier. Hope I helped a little.

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 4 Oct 2006 , 3:39pm
post #3 of 7

How long did you let it cool in the pan before trying to flip it out? (it needs to cool about 10 -15 minutes only)

Another thing I do with a 12x18 is that I do not put it on a cooling rack - I immediately put it onto the cake board that I am going to use. That way there is not as many times moving it around. (If I am not going to decorate it soon, I wrap the cake board and all in the saran wrap)