Urgent!! All Aussies

Business By kalatzp Updated 4 Oct 2006 , 11:51am by kalatzp

kalatzp Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kalatzp Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 5:29am
post #1 of 5

I need some help regarding setting up a cake business in Sydney. I have been making cakes for family and friends for a few years and was now interested in advertising on the net and selling cakes. I have set up an ABN but as this is a food industry and people can easily sue you, Is there are large cost involved in regards to insurance? I am currently making caked from my kitchen, do I have to set up a separate kitchen? Is there some kind of public liability insurance I need to get? Too many questions!!!!HELP!!

4 replies
Feefs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Feefs Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 7:17am
post #2 of 5

Hi there

I'm not in Sydney... but I'm guessing it all depends on how big/commercial you want to be. I sell cakes to people other than friends & family and have never worried about "insurance" of such. People know who they are buying from - and touch wood, I doubt anyone would "sue" me over the taste of my cakes! hehe

If you look at the people that make wedding cakes from home (and there are lots of them) they don't have commercial kitchens etc... there are alot out there that are the same as what I am doing...

Perhaps ring up your local Business Enterprise Centre and see what they have to say - on the legalities/insurance, and the health department in your area can help out with that.

Other than that... good luck!

-- Fi

Sparklepop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sparklepop Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 8:00am
post #3 of 5