Second Paid Cake So Needing Your Help (Again)

Decorating By katharry Updated 2 Oct 2006 , 6:31pm by katharry

katharry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katharry Posted 2 Oct 2006 , 7:56am
post #1 of 13

Ive been asked to do a rugby league jersey (sort of like American football but without the padded uniforms ouch!) . The picture below is the badge on the teams jersey. I need advice on how you think I should do this. The rest of the jersey will be star piped (smooth BC and I dont get on) and the emblem will have to sit on the breast of the jersey. (I will be using the Wilton t-shirt/jersey pan) I am in no way artistic, so this may help you with what advice you give me icon_redface.gif

I was thinking I'll do the red emblem but put the boys name where the 'vodafone' is?

Looking for your wisdom, ideas and help on this one please! icon_wink.gif
LL
LL

12 replies
auntsushi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntsushi Posted 2 Oct 2006 , 8:09am
post #2 of 13

I'm fairly new at this but just thinking that you may want to consider doing the emblem in a frozen buttercream transfer. I did my first one yesterday (I haven't posted a picture of the cake yet but will do so today). The transfer was very easy to do (time consuming but easy) and there is a tutorial on here about how to do it (under the articles and how to section).

janbabe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
janbabe Posted 2 Oct 2006 , 8:21am
post #3 of 13

I did a badge on a cake for my hubbys bowls club. It was Captains Day and they wanted a cake with the badge on! I took a picture of the badge, put it on my computer, printed it off, then traced it onto some rolled fondant, cut out the shape then carefully painted the colours and detail on then I lifted the badge onto the cake. They were thrilled and thought the badge was real!! My cake was fondant though, but as the badge would be smooth, you could still do a fondant badge on the buttercream t shirt.

You can see my cake in my photos.