What's Up With The New Crisco?

Decorating By 06coopers Updated 23 Jul 2007 , 12:42pm by 1234me

06coopers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
06coopers Posted 21 Jul 2007 , 1:26am
post #1 of 12

I'm pretty new to decorating cakes so bare with me please. I use the Wilton icing recipe that is in all of the course booklets. I use Crisco for my shortening and I use the Americolor Gel Pastes to tint my icing. I've noticed that since Crisco has changed to No Trans Fat that my colors aren't smooth like they used to be, it's almost like they don't mix evenly. There is still white "specks" in the color. Someone had asked me if I use any salt in the recipe because if I do it could be that the salt isn't getting dissolved all the way but I don't use any salt so we've narrowed it down to the Crisco. Does anyone have any tips on what I should do or maybe a better recipe that doesn't require me to use Crisco? Help!

11 replies
AuntieElle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AuntieElle Posted 21 Jul 2007 , 1:31am
post #2 of 12

I have seen a couple threads here with problems with the 0 transfat crisco. I use the Wal-Mart brand and have never had it go wrong. "Thank You Sam Walton!"

Brickflor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brickflor Posted 21 Jul 2007 , 1:40am
post #3 of 12

I keep trying to post this recipe on the recipes link but it doesn't seem to be working. I use only the new crisco and my icing is fine, works great every time, holds up well in heat and humidity, crusts after 10-15 mins., etc. AND tastes awesome!

1 c. butter
1/2 c. shortening
6 c. pwd sugar
1 1/2 tsp clear vanilla
3-5 tbs half and half
1-2 tbs corn syrup