Are You Self Taught?

Decorating By majormichel Updated 18 Jul 2007 , 4:35pm by Brandonsmommy

majormichel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
majormichel Posted 15 Jul 2007 , 7:51pm
post #1 of 67

How did you learn to decorate cakes? Did you go to culinary school? did you learn on your own? Please tell your story. icon_biggrin.gif

I have some baking and cooking skills under my belt (self taught). Does it make sense to go to culinary school or just take a few professional classes (learn from the best) from Nicholas Lodge, Toba Garrett, Maisie Parrish, etc. I am in unviersity getting my accounts degree and i cannot afford to take out another student loan.

What is your view?

66 replies
darkchocolate Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darkchocolate Posted 15 Jul 2007 , 8:20pm
post #2 of 67

Yes, I am self taught. I have wanted to take classes for a long time. The nearest class would have been 1 hour away and it just never worked out. I came upon this site May 2006 and I have been "addicted" ever since.

I learned everything I know except for the shell border from this site. I would like to take the Wilton Class 3 and 4 though, but I know I need to take Class 1 to be able to take any other classes.

I have a lot to learn but I think I know enough basics, so Wilton 1 isn't for me. If I could take some classes from bakeries or something like that, I would do it. I am in a small town, and I don't for see that happening. Nor do I know of any place within a 50 mile radius that would offer a class other than Michael's or Hobby Lobby.

darkchocolate

Letmebeurdesignr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Letmebeurdesignr Posted 15 Jul 2007 , 9:06pm
post #3 of 67

do you consider wilton courses, culinary school or self taught? i dont see it fitting into either catagory

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 15 Jul 2007 , 9:29pm
post #4 of 67