Different Cake Boarders

Decorating By mrssambo Updated 27 Oct 2006 , 4:49pm by springlakecake

mrssambo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrssambo Posted 3 Sep 2006 , 4:19am
post #1 of 26

Hey everyone,
I am after ideas for different cake boarders - I have the shell down pat and am wondering what else I can do- any pics and ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks
Angela

25 replies
mkerton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkerton Posted 3 Sep 2006 , 4:27am
post #2 of 26

I really like the reverse shell and the rope....but reverse shell is my current favorite (but I am just learning).

jbink24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jbink24 Posted 3 Sep 2006 , 4:32am
post #3 of 26

My current favorite is the reverse shell, i'm fairly new, so I'm sorta playing around with borders that I know and messing with the lenght between shells and stuff. I really want to try the rope border, but it elludes me, can someone explain it alittle?

Cake4ever Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cake4ever Posted 3 Sep 2006 , 4:37am
post #4 of 26

To do a rope border pipe an S shape -- more elongated though and place the tip under the left side and pipe over making another S shape. Remember to keep it tight.

Practice, practice, practice! thumbs_up.gif

playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 3 Sep 2006 , 4:39am
post #5 of 26

My fave for gals or wedding cakes is the reverse shell.
For guys and the basketweave, it is definitely the rope, with a star tip.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

Monica0271 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Monica0271 Posted 3 Sep 2006 , 4:40am
post #6 of 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbink24

My current favorite is the reverse shell, i'm fairly new, so I'm sorta playing around with borders that I know and messing with the lenght between shells and stuff. I really want to try the rope border, but it elludes me, can someone explain it alittle?