Child Allergic To Peanut Products.....

Decorating By _ChristyB_ Updated 31 Aug 2006 , 3:43pm by sheri277

_ChristyB_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
_ChristyB_ Posted 31 Aug 2006 , 11:26am
post #1 of 9

This is the first time in all the cakes I have done in the past year and a half that someone as mentioned anything about food allergies. The mother wants a red velvet cake with cream cheese icing. I plan to use fondant accents as well. She has also ordered sugar cookies decorated with royal icing. What do I need to look for on the product ingredients? Will it specifically say there is peanut/peanut products in it? Does vegetable shortening have anything peanut in it? cream cheese? I am just new to this aspect, but I would absolutely not want a child to have a reaction to some of my goodies!!!!!

TIA for your help!!!

8 replies
amycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amycake Posted 31 Aug 2006 , 11:31am
post #2 of 9

I too would like to know this as well.

karensjustdessert Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karensjustdessert Posted 31 Aug 2006 , 11:40am
post #3 of 9

My son does not have peanut allergies, but he has tree nut allergies (pecans, cashews, almonds, etc.); so, I always read every label. If a product is made with peanuts, it will say it very clearly. If a product is processed in a facility that uses peanut products elsewhere in said building, it will say it on the package somewhere...fine print, but easy enough to spot.
From what you are making, it seems that there are no problems with any of the ingredients. Just read all the labels while you are shopping, and make sure your kitchen has NO HINT of peanuts/peanut butter anywhere on the counters or utensils. The mom was good to give you a heads up.

amycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amycake Posted 31 Aug 2006 , 12:25pm
post #4 of 9

so I guess Almond extract would be out if that was the case right? If someone has alergies? I use this is my frosting with butter and vanilla.