I'm A Little Down And I Don't Feel Like I'm Good Enough....

Decorating By mnmmommy Updated 17 Jul 2007 , 1:21pm by flavacakes

mnmmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mnmmommy Posted 10 Jul 2007 , 5:04am
post #1 of 58

I'm not sure where to start, so here it goes. Please forgive me if this jumps around and I'm sure it will be long. I have been doing cakes since March 2006, that's when I took Wilton 1 at Michaels. I immediately fell in love with cake decorating. I have never been much of a baker, but my grandmother was. She mostly baked pies and the cake recipes that I have are written as she's the only one that would understand them. There are no measurements or anything. Unfortunately she's not around anymore to ask her. icon_cry.gif

My main problem is I don't like the way my cakes taste. They are alright but not knock your socks off, have to have over a grocery store cake. For the most part most of my cakes have been for family and friends, but I am about to become legal!!!! I found a place to rent the kitchen out so I just need to have it inspected and get my license. I have tried several recipes for cakes and buttercream, but I don't have anything that when other people eat it they say, "wow, that's the best cake I ever had" or "this is why you get a cake from Michelle and not Publix". I mostly use the WASC and the buttercream dream recipe. Just recently I've tried making Elisa Strauss' recipe for yellow cake and her SMBC. The cake is alright and the icing I can't get right. I've tried Martha Stewarts SMBC icing which is similar and I'm able to make that okay but it's just not like what I have had from other bakeries. I also have a problem with storing the cake because I know that fondant sweats and it can't be refridgerated so what do you do when you frost a cake w/SMBC or IMBC? what if the cake needs to be white. The longer either recipe that I make sits the more yello it gets.