Desperately Need Help!! All Ideas Welcome!!!

Decorating By JLW2482 Updated 15 Jul 2007 , 4:31pm by hcouso

JLW2482 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JLW2482 Posted 6 Jul 2007 , 4:24am
post #1 of 20

I am extremely new at the whole cake decorating thing...in fact, I don't really know a whole lot, but I have to start somewhere. I desperately need all the advice I can get on my son's 1st birthday cake. I'm running out of time and I can't seem to figure it out. I want to make a cake with the Hugs & Stitches 1st birthday boy theme decorated on top, I've seen pictures of similar cakes so I know that it can be done. Here's a picture of what I want on top of the cake http://www.partypiggy.co.uk/acatalog/hugs_stitches_boy_plate_sml.jpg it's small, but I am sure you can all get the idea. I really really really want this to work out as I have all the decorations in this theme already, so any hints, tips, ideas, ANY AT ALL, please let me know ASAP!!! And I mean ANY tips, from what kind of cake to use to what kind of icing to what size, what shape....

I don't even know where to begin...

19 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 6 Jul 2007 , 4:28am
post #2 of 20

Welcome to cake central. For you cake, any cake will work for the cake itself.

for the decorations, there are a couple options. One would be a frozen buttercream transfer FBCT. There is a description and tutorial in the articles section

A second option would be to do this on a fondant plaque, separate from the cake, and place it on top of the cake for display and serving. The decorations can be made from royal icing or color flow(a Wilton product)

alliebear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alliebear Posted 6 Jul 2007 , 4:39am
post #3 of 20

i would also suggest the fbct... it will look the best.. you could try this with fondant and kinda make the shapes and put them together... or if u have a local bakery u can go to you can ask them to print you and edible image and use that..