Probably Stupid, But This Is What I Did...

Business By chocomama Updated 19 Aug 2006 , 6:52pm by Charlie_Fatster

chocomama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chocomama Posted 19 Aug 2006 , 2:00am
post #1 of 20

I met a girl who is getting married this October, inviting 100 guests and had no cake ordered yet. She is on a really tight budget and since I am just starting out and want to get my name known, I offered to make her cake at cost. Not cost + labor, just my cost. Ooooook, dumb. The cakes she likes are pretty simple - 3 stacked rounds covered with fondant, basically. She would also like a groom's cake and her favorite, of course, is one of Earlene's. Uh oh. It is a 3 layer stacked covered in chocolate fondant with a ruffled sort of bottom layer and scroll work on the top 2. I already told her I wouldn't do the ruffle, so that's OK, but I'm really mad at myself. My cost is not going to be much compared to my time but I don't think there is anything I can do at this point. She hasn't signed a contract yet, but I don't want to back out b/c I was the one who opened my big mouth and made the offer. Am I a complete moron?

19 replies
dl5crew Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dl5crew Posted 19 Aug 2006 , 2:08am
post #2 of 20

You are not a complete moron. I recently made three cakes for a lady and only charged her $45.00. It cost me close to $100.00. You are giving this couple a big blessing by doing their cake.

TOMAY Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TOMAY Posted 19 Aug 2006 , 2:09am
post #3 of 20

nope i do this all the time , i have this radar for people with caviar dreams and a fishstick budget good luck personall i would tell not a problem on the wedding cake but the grooms cake is going to cost her

Melvira Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melvira Posted 19 Aug 2006 , 2:12am
post #4 of 20