Back To School Bake Sales Already!!!!!

Decorating By notjustcake Updated 16 Aug 2006 , 3:02pm by koppeskreations

notjustcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
notjustcake Posted 16 Aug 2006 , 11:23am
post #1 of 7

We are back to school and the PTA has already issued a date for a Bake Sale. I am so looking forward to it. For some of use who don't know I am almost done with Wilton course 3 and can't wait to start practicing what I have learned. Has anyone ever done a Bake Sale at your child's school? Any tips or advice that you have for me? How many cakes is reasonable to donate and the size of the cake (although I have an idea since most families in my school have an average of three kids) Any ideas on themes or kinds of cakes. Anything will help if you have done this before thanks

6 replies
vickymacd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vickymacd Posted 16 Aug 2006 , 11:34am
post #2 of 7

With my 7 kids, I'm an expert at schools and bake sales!! Most PTA's are happy just to get ONE item from every family. Don't go 'whole hog' into it though. Most people will buy cookies, brownies, etc. AND most people will eat it as they are walking through the halls. Especially if this is an open house deal and families have their kids with them! If you trying to start a business, yes, decorate a cake and put your card there. But experience tells me that 'cheap' sells. Also, don't (if using cookies, brownies) try to package an entire dozen. Package individual brownies in a cupcake liner and bag it, tie it with a ribbon, decorate the cookie/cupcake/brownie. Trust me, this won't be the last bake sale you'll be expected to bake for, so don't wreck yourself over it. Good Luck!

notjustcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
notjustcake Posted 16 Aug 2006 , 11:45am
post #3 of 7