How Do I Keep A Cake Moist For Sunday?

Decorating By melly Updated 15 Jun 2005 , 4:55pm by caduchi

melly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melly Posted 14 Jun 2005 , 9:45pm
post #1 of 9

I making my daughters baptism cake for this Sunday. I'm new to the cake decor stuff. I want to start on the cake but not sure if I could bake it maybe today? I'm scared it will get hard or taste stale if i bake it too early.
Any suggestions? icon_redface.gif

8 replies
thyterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thyterrell Posted 14 Jun 2005 , 9:47pm
post #2 of 9

I would think that if you made it today, you'd have to wrap it well and freeze it until you're ready to decorate it. It might be better to just get everything else ready, your icing made and tinted, etc., and then bake your cake on Friday or Saturday.

dragonwarlord1969 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dragonwarlord1969 Posted 14 Jun 2005 , 9:49pm
post #3 of 9

Hi Melly!

I baked a cake for a Saturday baby shower on Tuesday. When it was lukewarm, I wrapped it up in saran wrap. People commented on how moist the cake was. I did not have the heart to tell them it was close to a week old. icon_eek.gif I decorated it 2 days before the shower. Duncan Hines cake mix is the best in my opinion.

Joe

melly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melly Posted 15 Jun 2005 , 1:57am
post #4 of 9

Thank you for your suggestions. I'm going to make all my flowers and icing first then bake last!

icon_biggrin.gif

bonnscakesAZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bonnscakesAZ Posted 15 Jun 2005 , 2:07am
post #5 of 9

I bake all of my cakes and then wrap warm in plastic wrap and freeze. I tested out different ways of baking and between refrigerated, freezing, baking early baking late etc and this is the best method I found. I bake on Monday's or Tuesdays usually and do this. Every one always says it's the best cake they have had and very moist.

Bonnie

SquirrellyCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile