Olive Oil Vs. Vegetable Oil/canola Oil?

Baking By LukeRubyJoy Updated 11 Aug 2015 , 11:37am by Shockolata

LukeRubyJoy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LukeRubyJoy Posted 14 Aug 2006 , 8:25pm
post #1 of 18

Hello all, I would like to present a question. I found a thread on vegetable oil versus canola oil, but I would like to go one step further.

I ususally use olive oil (virgin or extra virgin) for all my cooking. Can I use it in my baking recipes that call for vegetable oil as well (an olive is a veggie after all) I have been, and the cakes seem fine, but maybe I am missing something. The only problem I worry about is that my extra virgin olive oil is green, not yellow. It hasn't changed the coloring of anything I have done yet, but I am really new at this,so.....

Also, special flour for cakes versus all purpose. I heard that if the all purpose is sifted, then you don't really need cake flour (which is way more expensive in my store).

Thanks for all your help.

17 replies
vanz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vanz Posted 14 Aug 2006 , 8:52pm
post #2 of 18

Extra virgin olive oil can be used in baking if the recipe calls for it. A regular vegetable oil is flavourless so it is ideal for most baking recipe. If you notice the olive oil has some pungent smell to it so it might affect your cake. Also, canola oil is a good substitute too.

I use all purpose flour instead of cake flour by mixing 3/4 cups all purpose flour and 2 tablespoon cornstarch. This works for me everytime. Goodluck to you. I hope this helps.

czyadgrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
czyadgrl Posted 14 Aug 2006 , 8:56pm
post #3 of 18

Cake flour question... I've been wondering the same thing. I did buy some cake flour and used it for a few recipes. I can't say that I noticed a difference really. I recently posted this on a similar thread:

This is from www.practicalpantry.com, and believe it's the same thing that's on the back inside cover of the betty crocker cookbook: