Scroll Work Tutorials

Decorating By Charb31 Updated 15 Mar 2010 , 11:24pm by dalis4joe

Charb31 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Charb31 Posted 25 Jun 2007 , 5:27pm
post #1 of 44

I have seen alot of cakes lately with scroll work on them, and in the comments below, numerous people have asked for a tutorial on scrollwork.

Would someone who is very good at this be willing to do a tutorial on it?

I love the look of it, but am just afraid to try it on a cake without additional info on it.

I'm sure I speak for others with this tut request.

Thank you so much!!

43 replies
MikkelPaige Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MikkelPaige Posted 25 Jun 2007 , 5:32pm
post #2 of 44

AGREED!

Did you email the administrators of the website w/that request? Maybe someone has already volunteered or they have a good person in mind to ask.

Amy729 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Amy729 Posted 25 Jun 2007 , 5:40pm
post #3 of 44

Add me to the list. I am a beginner and love the way they look. So elegant. I would love to learn!!!!

PaulaT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PaulaT Posted 25 Jun 2007 , 5:52pm
post #4 of 44

Hi everyone,
I'm no master at this by any means but like all of you I really like the appearance of good scrollwork. It very elegant looking and many brides like it as well. It takes a lot of practice and a good icing. So far I've found that using a little larger tip like a #3 or even larger lets you have more control. Also a nice soft icing makes a big difference too. Adding corn syrup, piping gel or just a nice soft chocolate works well too. For my last wedding cake I used the Wilton scroll plastic formers (can't recall the actual name) and made the indentations on the cake. I haven't used a tutorial - just tried teaching myself. Good luck - any more tips from anyone are sure welcomed!!

Manda1panda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Manda1panda Posted 30 Jul 2007 , 2:42pm
post #5 of 44