Need To Vent...

Decorating By newlywedws Updated 1 Jul 2007 , 10:47am by Sionann

newlywedws Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
newlywedws Posted 25 Jun 2007 , 12:45am
post #1 of 11

Okay for starters I realise I'm not "God's gift to cake decorating" I realise I'm a beginner, and that there are many other cakes out there that look alot better than mine. Having said that, I've got to vent a frustration of mine.

My self confidence has never been great - so I figured I should do some
"Me" stuff -just so I would realise that I do have talents regardless of whether it's newly discovered, what have you...

One of the things I did was to take the 3 Wilton cake decorating classes, and I hope to eventually finish the latest wilton fondant/gumpaste course, well the cake decorating helped in more ways than one...I no longer have a sweet tooth!

Tonight I was talking to a friend that is expecting a baby in August (she took some cake decorating classes w/ me and has seen the various cakes I've made) and she mentioned that b/c she wasn't able to find out the gender of the baby (hospital will not do another ultrasound) the baby shower will not be until after the birth...so I was curious who was making the baby shower cake (hoping she would ask me to make it) and she said "____ is doing it"

I'm not saying I'm mad or angry...but I've seen cakes this lady has decorated and while they're not that unfortunate looking, you can tell that she's never taken a cake decorating class. The frosting is never smooth looking, the cakes are dry - I'm not a fan of supermarket cakes, but in her case...I am. She even told the mom-to-be that if it's a girl she is going to decorate the cake pink - even though, she KNOWS that the mom-to-be can't stand the colour pink.
I'm not like that, I would rather give a person the say so in the colour, flavour etc., I will spend time making sure that if a guest has a food allergy that they will also be able to partake of a piece of cake...and I