This Is Prolly A Stupid Question For All You Pros But...

Decorating By beginningcakebaker Updated 21 Jun 2007 , 6:54pm by Sugar_Plum_Fairy

beginningcakebaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beginningcakebaker Posted 21 Jun 2007 , 6:30pm
post #1 of 5

What is fondant? I have heard it used so many times here and I am just learning to bake so I don't know what it is or how it is used. I would like to make a spectacular cake for my birthday party and I was told to use fondant to make stars but I don't know what it is.

4 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 21 Jun 2007 , 6:36pm
post #2 of 5

Fondant is a mixture of sugar and gelatin-tastes like marshmallows- that is rolled and covers a cake. It can also be used to make shapes figures and cutouts.

You can buy it ready made, Wilton doesn't taste very good, but there are others that are very tasty-Satin Ice for one.

Janette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Janette Posted 21 Jun 2007 , 6:38pm
post #3 of 5

http://atecousa.net//learn/satin-ice-tutorial-i-icing-your-cake.html

This site will explain everthing.

I don't like working with fondant but that's just me, most do.

Wilton fondant is horrible I would go with the Satin Ice or thier is a recipe here on the site that everyone talks about

beginningcakebaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beginningcakebaker Posted 21 Jun 2007 , 6:42pm
post #4 of 5

Thank you so much for explaining it to me. I have never used it before and wasn't sure where to start. Thank you.

Sugar_Plum_Fairy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugar_Plum_Fairy Posted 21 Jun 2007 , 6:54pm
post #5 of 5

As has been previously stated, Wilton's brand tastes terrible, but it's good for practice or for molding figures that you don't want to eat. It's texture is pretty good.