Cookie Decorating Business

Baking By eromero Updated 26 Jul 2013 , 1:54am by galleteria

eromero Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eromero Posted 5 Aug 2006 , 2:01pm
post #1 of 18

Hi Everybody,
I have been reading posts all summer. Everyone here does terrific work!
I have been fantasizing all summer about opening a cookie shop in my town where I would sell decorated cookies as well as batches of a couple of different variations of undecorated cookies and brownies. I have fallen in love with decorating cookies and think that I would enjoy it very much. My problem is that I am a teacher and it is difficult for me to leave my job, especially since I am not sure about how it will be financially.
My question is, has anyone opened their own cookie shops? Has it been the best thing you've done...or the worst? Give me some advice. There are a couple of opportunities here in town to lease or buy a space.
Any comments would be appreciated.
Thanks! icon_smile.gif

17 replies
sweetbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetbaker Posted 5 Aug 2006 , 2:09pm
post #2 of 18

You might want to send a pm to acookieobsession.

cookieman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cookieman Posted 5 Aug 2006 , 2:18pm
post #3 of 18

Hi eromero,

In a nutsell:
I had a custom cookie business for a couple of years. I ran it like a catering business (no shop) and leased kitchen space at a good price and I still barely made a profit. Why? I really hadn't thought things through as thoroughly as I should have. I say this after months and months of planning, etc.

Bottom line: you NEED a business plan, sufficient $$ and A LOT of time if you want to do this the right way (I couldn't imagine still teaching and trying to run a shop at the same time).