Doubling A Box Cakemix Recipe - Do I Need To Adjust Time?

Baking By kelly75 Updated 7 Aug 2006 , 12:32pm by greenhorn

kelly75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelly75 Posted 2 Aug 2006 , 8:56pm
post #1 of 17

Hi! I'm VERY new to cake decorating and to CC (just joined today, after being glued to it for the last 2 days!!! Sooo much information!). Anyway, getting to the point (!), I am making a Dora Birthday cake on Friday and am using a chocolate cake mix which is for two 7" round pans, but I'm baking it in an 11" square pan, so I'm using 2 boxes (if my maths is OK, that should be about right). The box says to cook the two 7" cakes at 375 for 15 minutes, but I don't think this will be right for a double amount in an 11" pan (quadruple really as I'm not splitting the mix in two). Does anyone have any experience of this? Should I increase the cooking time and/or the temperature?

Please help as this is the first cake I am making for someone outside the family, and I really want to impress!

16 replies
dydemus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dydemus Posted 2 Aug 2006 , 8:59pm
post #2 of 17

Welcome Kelly! Glad to have you here - joining us fellow addicts. Yes, you do want to increase your baking time, but not the temperature. I'd check in at 5 minute intervals after about 20 minutes - maybe someone else knows the exact time? I still guestimate with my cakes.

LittleLinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LittleLinda Posted 2 Aug 2006 , 9:44pm
post #3 of 17

I make 11x15s all the time with two cake mixes. I always set my bell for 25 minutes, I open the oven door and usually when I just touch the oven rack, I can see that it's a little jiggly (obviously not done) then I set the bell for about five minutes and check with a toothpick. Sometimes I need to still go two or three minutes more. So, I'd say it will bake in 30 minutes or so.